LD Club Team Policy

Dear Debate Community,

We recognize that running a program that consists of competitors attending different schools from across the United States presents significant logistic and competitive hurdles for tournament directors and our colleagues. The purpose of this webpage is to clearly articulate relevant Club Team policies.

Reporting Harassment | DebateDrills Coaches and Students

We expect our coaches and students to maintain high standards of conduct at tournaments and respect their competitors and judges. Each student has full-text linked our Code of Conduct and Harassment/Bullying policies on their wiki entries. You can additionally access the full-text of our policy here and report incidents here.

Pre-Round and Post-Round Disclosure Policy

All DebateDrills students will open-source disclose constructive positions and provide round reports after debates. Students may occasionally forget due to post-round logistics and human error (e.g. short turnaround time for next debate, flight to catch). If this happens, please email us at support@debatedrills.com and we will troubleshoot.

Pre-round, we will disclose the affirmative 30 minutes before the debate and ask our colleagues to do the same. If it is a new aff (meaning it has not been read by anyone on DebateDrills), we will say “new aff” and will not disclose any portion of the affirmative. You can read the full-text of our policy here.

Judging Policy

When tournaments have an entourage rule, we will ensure all DebateDrills coaches are registered as an entourage for our top debater(s). Our students are required to avoid using their parents or other lay judges to fulfill judging requirements barring exceptional circumstances.  You can read the full-text of our policy here.

Mutual Judge Preference and "Conflicts" Policy

As part of our commitment to transparency, we will err on the side of caution to avoid even the appearance of impropriety. This document contains the official DebateDrills MJP and conflict guidelines we require students to abide by at any given tournament. It also contains a roster of students on our team. While we will strive to check every single conflict to ensure that we are constantly leading the charge in best practices, it is possible we will occasionally make mistakes. If you have any concerns about who is judging our students at any time, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

DebateDrills Leadership

DebateDrills Official Team MJP and Conflict Policy

“I think the real test should be this and the question is a simple one. Did you or persons with whom work closely have a direct and/or regular influence on or presence with the preparation, development, articulation, and presentation of arguments for this competitor for this tournament or tournaments within this competitive season… that they may use for this tournament? If the answer to that question is "yes," then you need to conflict yourself from judging those competitors. If you did not do those things, then there should be no conflict.”

- Dave Houston, April 22nd, 2018

In the spirit of this email sent before the 2018 Tournament of Champions: 

  1. Every DebateDrills student will be required to conflict an independent coach any DebateDrills teammate brings to any given tournament. By way of example, if Student A has Person X coaching them privately in addition to the DebateDrills Coaching Staff, every other student at the tournament must conflict Person X at said tournament. For further clarity, if DebateDrills Club Team Member Rex Evans (Santa Monica RE ’19) hires coach Cameron Baghai privately in addition to the DebateDrills Club Team Coaching staff, and, Rex decides to bring Cameron to Tournament Y, all other DebateDrills students at Tournament Y must conflict Cameron Baghai, regardless of any previous affiliation with Cameron.

  2. If any DebateDrills student hires a judge at any given tournament solely to fulfill the tournament’s judging obligation requirement, other students attending said tournament may not conflict said judge given that the judge isn’t coaching the student in question. By way of example, if DebateDrills Club Team Student Tej Gedela (Enloe TG ’19) hires Tara Norris to fulfill a judging obligation at Tournament Z, no other DebateDrills student attending Tournament Z may conflict Tara Norris. 

  3. All previous DebateDrills Club Team Coaches will be conflicted from judging DebateDrills students’ until they no longer have a relationship to any student on this year’s roster. By way of example, if Paras Kumar worked on the Club Team from 2016-2018, Paras may only judge students affiliated with DebateDrills after there are no students on DebateDrills’ current roster from Paras’ tenure with DebateDrills.

  4. All previous DebateDrills students who graduate from our Club Team and then judge on the national circuit will be conflicted from judging DebateDrills’ students they were teammates with. 

22-23 LD Student Roster


School Code

Other Coaching

Aarnav Agrawal

Monta Vista AA


Aaryaman Singh

Cupertino High School AS


Aayush Nitesh Gandhi

Dublin High AG


Abhinav Kasturi

Los Altos AK


Aditya Shetty

Southlake Carroll AS

Anthony Brown anthony.brown@southlakecarroll.edu

Alexander Lu

Wayland AL


Amanda Yu

Stanford OHS AY

Kristen Sullivan ksullivan@stanford.edu

Amelie Calamia

Lake Washington AC


Andrew Jiang

Richard Montgomery AJ


Andrew Kim

Bergen County Academies AK

Christopher Russo

Anish Thota

Charlotte Latin AT

Bilal Butt

Ansh Khurana

Providence AK


Arnav Garg

Saratoga AG

Steve Clemmons - sclemmons@hotmail.com

Arushi Dinker

Mission San Jose AD


Audrey Bae

Fullerton Union AB

Tarin Almstedt talmstedt@fjuhsd.org

Chloe Taena Chun

Brophy CC

Maanik Chotalla mchotalla@brophyprep.org

David Hain

West Boca High DH


David Lopez

Carrollwood Day School DL


Ella Min

Amador Valley High School EM


Emily Lin

Valley International Prep EL


Emma Wu

Friends Academy


Esha Verma

Saratoga EV

Steve Clemmons sclemmons@hotmail.com

Evan Run Hua Li

Charlotte Latin EL

Bilal Butt bilal.butt@charlottelatin.org

Felicity Zhang

Concord Carlisle FZ


Jason Kuo

BASIS Independent School Silicon Valley JK


Jhanvi Wong

Millburn JW


Jocelyn Sun



Jonathan Cheng

Basis Independent Silicon Valley JC


Katherine Chen

Amador Valley High School KC


Keshav Rastogi

Monta Vista KR


Lauren Chin

Stuyvesant LC

Julie Sheinman stuy4n6@gmail.com

Maxwell Mao

Millburn MM


Nathan Liu

Millard North NL

Dylan Sutton djsutton@mpsomaha.org

Neha Subramani

Dougherty Valley NS


Nishanth Gaddam

Charlotte Latin NG

Bilal Butt

Philip Dai

William G. Enloe PD

Callie Beck

Raina Batra

Livingston RB


Rohit Dayanand

Monta Vista RD


Salma Noor Gheith

Horace Greeley SM

Thomas Witmer

Shane Masterson

Palisades Charter SM


Sofia Millerman

Chapin SM

Emily Feder efeder@chapin.edu

Sophia Dong

Lovejoy SD


Sophie O'Brien

Hunter SO


Sumedha Kota

Miramonte SK

Kristen Plant

Timothy Jiang

Brophy TJ

Maanik Chotalla mchotalla@brophyprep.org

Tobias Hou



Viren Mehta

Oxford VM


Vivian Wiemelt

Meadow Glen Academy


Yeriel Kim

The Overlake School

Robin Monteith, rmonteith@overlake.org

LD Universal MJP Conflict List

Conflict Name


Ben Waldman


Christian Han


Advay Chandra


Jonathan Jeong


Pranav Kaginele


Parker Traxler


Sarah Li


Samantha McLoughlin


Tej Gedela


Bea Culligan


Prince Hyeamang

Director of Finance

Amit Kukreja

Former Coach

Jong Hak Won

Former Coach

Nina Potischman

Former Coach

Katherine Fennell

Former Coach

Emma Blum

Former Coach

Rishabh Shah

Former Coach

Daniel Luo

Former Coach

Conner Engel

Former Coach

Lindsey Dahms-Nolan

Former Coach

Raunak Dua

Former Coach

David Asafu-Adjaye


Ethan Elasky


Jackson Hanna


Simran Gandhi

Former Coach

Amrita Chakladar


Whit Jackson

Former Coach

Lucas Clarke

Former Coach

Raffi Piliero

Former Coach

Elyssa Alfieri

Former Coach

Paras Kumar