The Cameron Baghai and Tara Norris Scholarship

July 22nd, 2018

Dear LD Debate Community,

It is my pleasure to announce that the 3rd annual Cameron Baghai and Tara Norris Scholarship is open for applications for the upcoming 2017-2018 season.

The spots are available to all competitors, but priority will be given to those who a) have financial need, b) are committed to succeeding on the National Circuit, c) come from a small (or non-existent) debate program and d) are rising seniors. We will accept applications until 11:59 PM PST, August 3rd, and will make our final decisions on the recipients by August 6th.

Before I go on, I would like to give some background about Cameron (Rancho Bernardo CB ‘09) and Tara (Rancho Bernardo TN ’08). Both were national circuit debaters who were quintessential “lone wolves”. Despite lacking access to prep groups, not having the ability to travel on the national circuit (neither went to a tournament outside of California aside from TOC), and never being able to afford private coaches, both qualified to the TOC and achieved major national success. They were a tremendous source of inspiration to me personally and remain close friends to this day. They also embody the traits that debaters should aspire too: hard working, humble, passionate and intense. Cameron recently graduated from Yale Law School and Tara recently graduated from Harvard Law School. I would not have been able to accomplish what I have in competitive LD Debate as both a competitor and coach without their guidance. Debatedrills would not exist without Cameron and Tara, and this scholarship memorializes their contributions to LD Debate.

Last year, we had 14 students apply for two spots. This year, we anticipate the application process to be just as competitive. Our team will be capped at 25 team members and will have 6 coaches. Our students range from 9th graders entering circuit debate to 12th graders who we anticipate will be contenders at every major bid tournament in the country this year. If you are interested in applying to the Dropbox but don’t think you would be a competitive scholarship candidate, we highly recommend applying soon, since we operate on a rolling basis and have very limited spots left.

You can find more information about the Debatedrills Dropbox under the "Private-Prep Sharing" tab on the website. We look forward to reading your applications!

Click Here For Application Form